top of page

Traveling Alone is not BAD

I love being alone. As it has been said, traveling on my own is the thing I generally do and enjoy. However, today I have realized how it can be powerful to enhance your strengths.

Today, I am in Ulm. The city in Germany. As many cities in Germany, it is quite small and fewer things to do compare to other countries, but maybe that was the reason that why I recognized a new thing about me after many trips on my own. So, let's get started.

Today, I was walking alone and figure out the city pretty much. Generally, if you have connection or knowledge about the city, you can walk around according to your plan. However, this time with some unluckiness I ended up with having no connection in one of the cities in Germany. Actually, it is possible if you go to small cities in the middle of nowhere but never mind. Since I had no idea where I need to go and do, I had to ask people around me. However, since I was lucky, there was no one around me. I looked at the sky and try to kind of a cathedral or church that can give me a sign of where the city center is. So, I followed this sign. I ended up with somewhere, but the reason I came to this city -Blaubeuren- was to hike.

Okay, I was surrounded by so many mountains, but I needed a plan to turn back to Ulm on time to not miss the bus. As you can guess, this is the part that which the character had been forced to ask people. So did I. In addition to that since I am in one of the small city in Germany, I have to prepare myself to speak German. Then, I met with amazing two girls who showed me around a little to help me. It was so kind because even though I cannot really speak German, they were passionate to listen to me and answer me in a slow version of German. So, I finally found myself in the beginning hike trail. So, this was my second time that I was hiking on my own. I started to like the idea of hiking on my own. However, since I do not have any service I do not know how to go back to Hauptbahnhof -train station-.

Luckily, I found a person who hiked the same place I did and according to little German talk we had with him, I learned that he is Geologist and looking for a particular tree. I guess this tree has some type of superpower but honestly I did not get it what it is. However, I was pretty sure that I would not have spoken with any people if I had my operator was working. I had to ask the way to him to turn back to the city on time. He could not speak English and I couldn't speak enough German. However, he helped me out on my way back train station. (See, actually we do not need the Internet. ) For the last thing to be told, I was in the train station finally. However, I did not know where to wait. This is the reason why trains are a nightmare for me. I am always so frustrated about with line do I need to wait. However, again I asked -in German- a person who was also waiting for the train to show me the place that I need to wait. Thanks to him, I got on the right train and here I am on time and happy. One thing to confess is that there is only one person who doesn't know German but I talked every single individual as they do not know English at least some level. It is great to learn German. Try out!

Take Home Message

As you can see, if you travel on your own, every single circumstance you need to figure out on your own. Moreover, you are more likely to meet with new strangers who can contribute to your language learning journey. So, do not wait for anyone to travel because no matter where you are, backpacking is quite easy and student style!

This is the view I had chance to sit and watch during my hiking.

I LOVE HIKING!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page